DLSU Stuns Top Seed FEU, wins First UAAP Beach Volleyball Crown

(Photo by Raymond Braganza/Sports Gateway PH)

Manila, Philippines – Kim Fajardo and Cyd Demecillo captured DLSU’s first beach volleyball crown after outplaying Far Eastern University spikers Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza, 21-16, 25-23, in the second game of the UAAP Season 78 Women’s Beach Volleyball Finals at the MOA Sands By The Bay in Pasay City.

DLSU got their revenge from their loss in the UAAP Beach Volleyball finals last year as they eliminate the defending champions UST in the elimination round and tied with Adamson and Ateneo in the team standings with a 5-2 win-loss record.

The Lady Spikers was able to eliminate the duo of Alyssa Valdez and Bea Tan of Ateneo in the playoffs in a best-of-three series to move to the finals against FEU.

DLSU captured the first game of the finals in a thrilling three-setter, 21-17, 16-21, and 15-12.

The Lady Spikers never looked back as they finished the top seeded Lady Tamaraws in two straight sets 21-16, 25-23 to capture DLSU’s first UAAP Beach Volleyball title.

DLSU setter Kim Fajardo was named Most Valuable Player in the Beach Volleyball tournament.