EAC upsets JRU in controversial finish

Courtesy of Sidney Onwubere, the Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) Generals shocked the Jose Rizal University (JRU) Bombers, 63-60, in the second round of eliminatios of NCAA Season 92,  Tuesday afternoon, at the Filoil Flying V center in San Juan.

However, the game would finish in controversy as JRU tried to argue that Teytey Teodoro– who was fouled attempting a game-tying three-pointer– should be given three shots from the charity stripe. Although a foul was indeed called, the referees ruled out that the whistle was made after the buzzer sounded therefore nulling the call. The match would end up being protested by the Bombers, with team captain Jordan dela Paz signing the official game scorebook to signify the complaint.

Onwubere was solid for the Generals as he continues to put up incredible numbers, this time with 26 points, nine rebounds, three assists and three steals.

EAC started strong right off the gates as they started with an 14-8 lead in the first quarter that turned into a 34-19 halftime lead. The Generals led by as much as 17 points at one point.

The Bombers would comeback in the third quarter however as they limited the Generals to only nine points in the entire period. The fourth quarter would then be a see-saw affair until the final Teodoro shot that had the potential to send the game to overtime.

Hamadou Laminou chipped in 19 points and 10 rebounds for the Generals.

Mark dela Virgen was the only JRU player to score in double digits with 12 points to go along with five rebounds, two assists and two steals. The Bombers’ main man Teodoro was miserable the whole with eight points on a 3-of-16 shooting clip along with backourt partner Paolo Pontejos who only had four points on 1-of-7 shooting.

The loss ends JRU’s winning streak at four and dropped to 7-5 in the standings at the fifth spot while EAC improves to 4-9.


EAC: Onwubere 26, Laminou 19, Munsayac 6, Morada 4, Guzman 3, Neri 3, Corilla 2, Diego 0, King 0, Mendoza 0, Pascua 0

JRU: dela Virgen 12, Cruz 8, Teodoro 8, Abdul Wahab 6, Poutouochi 6, Grospe 6, dela Paz 4, Mendoza 4, Pontejos 4, Lasquety 2, Dada 0