Fearless Rain or Shine Remains Unbeaten, Keeps Defending Titlist San Miguel at Bay

Rain or Shine extended its strong winning streak to three as the Elasto Painters imposed a huge whammy on the defending champion San Miguel Beer, 99-84, on this year’s PBA Philippine Cup on Wednesday, at the Mall of Asia Arena, Pasay.

The tougher and stronger Elasto Painters remained untouchable since the conference commenced and they now reign on the top spot with a flawless 3-0 record after beating the Beermen.

Whereas for the reigning Philippine Cup titlist Beermen, this is their first taste of defeat after clinching triumph in their first two games this Season 41.

The match displayed a see-sawing run at first though, as San Miguel had quick replies to Rain or Shine’s pesky baskets until the second frame. But what seemed to be a close game turned the other way around when heading to the third period, and this was in favor of Coach Yeng Guiao’s wards.

Rain or Shine piled up as many as 16 points in the third, 30-14, and this served as the triggering switch that moved the rest of the Elasto Painters to move in style until the final canto.

More so, the Elasto Painters had a splendid execution in stopping the smooth shooters of San Miguel in the likes of Arwind Santos, Marcio Lassiter, and Alex Cabagnot. The Beermen, who are known for their shooting prowess as a whole, saw themselves miss a couple of field goals that could have set the tone up for San Miguel past Rain or Shine.

Former Letran cager Raymond Almazan and “The Big Man” Beau Belga provided the heroics with 15 points each, while newbile Maverick Ahanmisi had another impressive finish of 14 markers.

Meanwhile, the shooters of San Miguel took care of the job, as Alex Cabagnot finished with 16 points while Arwind Santos and Marcio Lassiter committed 12 points apiece for San Miguel Beer.

Reigning MVP June Mar Fajardo held a stellar stance down low for the Beermen, yet the Elasto Painters limited him to 13 points at the end.


Game Scores:

Rain or Shine (99)  – Almazan 15, Belga 15, Chan 15, Ahanmisi 14, Norwood 14, Ponferada 8, Tiu 8, Ibanes 6, Cruz 3, Quinahan 1, Trollano 0.

San Miguel Beer (84)  – Cabagnot 16, Fajardo 13, Lassiter 12, Santos 12, Espinas 10, Ross 10, Tubid 5, Lutz 4, Reys 2, Arana 0, De Ocampo 0, Heruela 0.