Folayang cops ONE Championship Lightweight title

Singapore – Eduard “Landslide” Folayang completes his journey through ONE Championship’s lightweight ranks by stopping Asian MMA legend Shinya “Tobikan Judan” Aoki via TKO (strikes) in the third round to capture the ONE Lightweight World Championship Friday night at the Singapore Indoor Stadium.

Aoki dominated the first round with his Brazilian jiu-jitsu, but Folayang came alive in the second round as he opened up his striking, showcasing his world-class wushu talent. In the third round, Folayang rocked Aoki against the cage fence and finished him off with ground-and-pound.

In the co-main event of the evening, reigning ONE Featherweight World Champion Marat “Cobra” Gafurov of Russia successfully defended his title against challenger and top contender Narantungalag “Tungaa” Jadambaa of Mongolia. It was the champion’s second title defense, after lifting the belt from Jadambaa a year ago. After a brief exchange of strikes, action quickly went to the mat when Jadambaa missed a kick and fell to the canvas. Gafurov followed the Mongolian down and that’s where he worked on the submission. Jadambaa was able to defend for a few moments, but once Gafurov re-established himself, the choke came effortlessly.

In another lightweight battle, Filipino fighter and former Pan Asia BJJ Champion Vaughn “The Spawn” Donayre lost to Singaporean Amir Khan via submission (Rear Naked Choke) in the third round.

Other ONE: Defending Honor matches featured Women’s strawweight bout where Michelle Nicolini beat Mona Samir by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 2:16 minutes of the first round.

Other lightweight matches featured Roger Huerta outclassed Adrian Pang via Split Decision while Kotetsu Boku defeated Timofey Nastyukhin by TKO. Nastyukhin failed to answer the call for the second round and Boku was awarded the TKO.

Singaporean Tiffany “Soul Crusher” Teo had a grand debut as she defeated Walaa Abbas by Submission (Rear Naked Choke) at 4:15 minutes of round 2.

In the lone featherweight bout, Ahmed Mujtaba beat Benedict Ang by Unanimous Decision while Flyweight Niko Soe crushed Muhamad Haidar by Submission (Armbar) at 1:17 minute mark of round 1.