LPU Pirates remain scathless at 4-0

The LPU Pirates remain undefeated after beating last season’s finalists—Arellano University Chiefs, who dealt with a 34-point meltdown, 99-65, yesterday at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

LPU Big Man CJ Perez topped the board with 16 points and three rebounds from 5-of-17 attempts, but redeemed with 6-of-6 freebies. Jaycee Marcelino, Jesper Ayaay, and Ralph Tansingco each converted 13 points to seal their win.

CJ Perez drew first blood while Ayaay plunged a triple dagger to post five points in the first minute of the quarter. The Pirates then grabbed the momentum with a 7-0 run to end the quarter at 20-11 after a failed attempt by Zach Nichols at the buzzer.

The AU Chiefs struggled with only 26-of-71 field goal rate compared to LPU’s 35-of-78.

Zach Nichols led the Chiefs with 12 points while Kent Salado, who played the most minutes, finished with 11 points, seven rebounds and four assists.

The AU Chiefs dropped to 2-2 while LPU remains undefeated at 4-0 after beating last year’s top two teams, San Beda and Arellano, successively.


LPU – Perez 16, Ayaay 13, Marcelino JC 13, Tansingco 13, Ibanez 8, Marcelino JV 8, Nzeusseu 8, Caduyac 6, Serrano 5, Pretta 3, Baltazar 2, Liwag 2, Marata 2

AU – Nichols 12, Salado 11, Concepcion 9, Canete 7, Meca 6, Alcoriza 5, Dela Cruz 4, Enriquez 4, Flores 3, Ongolo 2, Rivera 2