New Teams, Tough Competition Banner New ASEAN Basketball League Season

Kuala Lumpur – The ASEAN Basketball League (ABL) announced today that their sixth season begins in October 2015.

The ABL remains the only regional professional basketball league in Southeast Asia. With seven teams spanning across five countries, the ABL offers a unique experience for all basketball fans in the region.

This year, three new teams are joining the ABL – the Pacquiao Powervit Pilipinas Agilas, the Racal Motors, and the Mono Vampire Basketball Club.

Pacquiao Powervit Pilipinas Aguilas is based in the Mindanao region of the Philippines and is supported by none other than boxing icon Manny Pacquiao. Racal Motors is likewise from the Philippines and is an active participant in the Filipino basketball scene. Mono Vampire Basketball Club first debuted in the Thailand Basketball League and is now Thailand’s newest team joining the ABL

Two-time champions Hi-Tech Bangkok City look to extend its title reign in the ABL as they gun for their third championship overall in season six. Standing its way are last year’s runner-up Westports Malaysia Dragons, semifinalists Singapore Slingers and Saigon Heat, and as well as the rest of the league with new and improved rosters.

The ABL was first founded by Tan Sri Tony Fernandes and Erick Thohir and is sanctioned by the South East Asian Basketball Association (SEABA). The ABL is committed to the development of basketball both on and off the court. Marketed as a sports and lifestyle property, the league is incorporated in Singapore with operations based in Manila, Philippines.

The league will release more information and other team’s participation, including the complete schedule of games, in the coming weeks. More information will be available at