SMB makes Standhardinger No. 1 overall in 2017 PBA Rookie Draft


With KIA trading their No. 1 pick to San Miguel for veterans Ronald Tubid, Jay-R Reyes, Rashawn Mccarthy and a 2019 first-round draft pick; the Beermen selected Gilas Forward Christian Standhardinger to further bolster their frontcourt with JuneMar Fajardo and Arwind Santos.

Fajardo and Standhardinger are expected to form their own version of Twin Towers in another bid for a grandslam next season.

Meanwhile, the NLEX Road Warriors went for another highly-touted Gilas Cadet in Kiefer Ravena for second-overall, while Blackwater Elite used the third pick to acquire FEU standout, Raymar Jose.

The Phoenix Fuel Masters together with their new mentor, Louie Alas, grabbed Jason Perkins for the No. 4 pick.

Alaska nabbed De La Salle University star Jeron Teng at No. 5 overall before Globalport pulled off the first shocker in the draft as the Batang Pier chose unheralded guard Robbie Herndon at the sixth pick.

At No. 7, Rey Nambatac ended up reuniting with his former college coach Caloy Garcia at the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters.

Phoenix took EAC forward Sydney Onwubere with the eighth pick, while Star went for high-flyer Lervin Flores at No. 9.

The TNT KaTropa got Mark Tallo and Jon Gabriel with 10th and 11th picks, Ginebra landed shooter and also a former Gilas Cadet Jett Manuel at No. 12.

Surprisingly, San Beda Guard Davon Potts slipped down to No. 6 in the second round where he went to the Aces.

43 out of 44 applicants were drafted in this year’s pool with only Jeremiah Dela Pena not getting called out by any team.

UPDATE: A few hours after the draft, the Globalport shipped Herndon to Star for Flores, Gabayni, and Sargent. 

Here is the complete list of the 2017 PBA Draft:

First Round:

  1. Christian Standhardinger – San Miguel
  2. Kiefer Ravena – NLEX
  3. Raymar Jose – Blackwater
  4. Jason Perkins – Pheonix
  5. Jeron Teng – Alaska
  6. Robbie Herndon – Globalport (Traded to Star for Flores, Gabayni, and Sargent)
  7. Rey Nambatac – ROS
  8. Sydney Onwubere – Phoenix
  9. Lervin Flores – Star (Traded to Globalport for Herndon)
  10.  Mark Tallo – TNT
  11. Jon Gabriel – TNT
  12. Jett Manuel – Ginebra

Second Round:

  1. John Grospe – NLEX
  2. Joseph Gabayni – Star (Traded to Globalport for Herndon)
  3. Renz Palma – Blackwater
  4. Julian Sargent – Star (Traded to Globalport for Herndon)
  5.  Louie Vigil – San Miguel
  6.  Davon Potts – Alaska
  7.  Jomari Sollano – Rain or Shine
  8.  Gwyne Capacio – Star
  9.  Jayson Grimaldo – Phoenix
  10.  Monbert Arong – TNT
  11.  Wilson Baltazar – Phoenix
  12.  Andreas Cahilig – Globalport

Third Round:

  1. Christian De Chavez – Kia
  2. Gabriel Dagangon – NLEX
  3. Ebrahim Enguio – Blackwater
  4. Roldan Sara – Phoenix
  5. Zachary Nicholls – Globalport
  6. Alaska – Passed
  7. Michael Juico – Rain or Shine
  8. Jebb Bulawan – Meralco
  9. Thomas Torres – Star
  10. Dave Moralde – TNT
  11. Jerome Ortega – San Miguel
  12. Elmer Cabahug – Ginebra

Fourth Round: 

  1. Arvie Bringas – Kia
  2. Felix Apreku Jr – NLEX
  3. Kyle Neypes – Blackwater
  4. John Casiño – Phoenix
  5. Gian Abrigo – Globalport
  6. Alaska – Passed
  7. ROS – Passed
  8. Meralco – Passed
  9. Star – Passed
  10. TNT – Passed
  11. Joseph Nalos – San Miguel
  12. Ginebra – Passed

Fifth Round:

  1. Christian Geronimo – Kia
  2. NLEX – Passed
  3. John Sumido – Blackwater