Soberano shoots San Beda over Arellano to nab #1 seed for the 11th straight year

Led by the hot hands of AC Soberano, the San Beda Red Lions outshot the Arellano University Chiefs, 80-73, in the playofffor the top seed, Tuesday at the Filoil Flying V center in San Juan.

The sharpshooter Soberano carried San Beda with 26 points on an efficient 6-of-9 shooting from the three-point land for 10-of-14 overall to go along with six rebounds and a steal in 23 minutes of playing time.

The win now continues the Red Lions streak of being the number one spot heading into the playoffs that goes back to 2005.

“Focus lang sa game,” said Soberano. “Pag-gising ko lang sa umaga, sabi ko talaga gusto ko manalo para makuha ‘yung number one kasi nga every year number one ‘yung San Beda.”

San Beda trailed by as much as 10 points in the second quarter but they closed the first half on a 15-2 rally sparked by three Soberano threepoint bombs to be on top by halftime 38-35.

The Lions would then proceed to lead by as much as 12 points but Arellano would close the gap to a point by the end of the third period 60-59. Soberano, however, along with young big man Ben Adamos would conspire with a 13-3 run to bury the Chiefs yet again.


Arellano would get to as close to as seven points after that but misses from them and three consecutive offensive rebounds by San Beda sealed the game.

Adamos chipped in 14 points six rebounds and four blocks while Robert Bolick scored 14 of his own to go along with seven rebounds and four assists.

For Arellano, Jiovani Jalalon had 14 points on a miserable 4-of-17 shooting to go along with seven rebounds, five assists and two steals while backourt partner Kent Salado chipped in 11 points, four rebounds and two assists.

San Beda will now face #4 seed Perpetual Help in the Final Four while Arellano will face #3 Mapua on Friday at the Mall of Asia Arena.


San Beda: Soberano 26, Bolick 14, Adamos 14, Sara 10, Mocon 6, Noah 5, Presbitero 3, Potts 2, Bonsubre 0, Tongco 0, Navarro 0, Optana 0, Carlos 0.


Arellano: Jalalon 14, Salado 11, Gumaru 11, Villoria 10, Flored 6, Canete 6, Enriquez 5, Holts 3, Aguilar 3, Meca 2, Cadavis 2, Nichols 0, Zamora 0, Gupilan 0.