Wangs Bravely Crawls Back from 19-Point Deficit to Turn Back Mindanao Aguilas in Overtime

(Photo by Richard Esguerra/Sports Gateway PH)


They might have been tagged as underdogs in the 2016 PBA D-League Aspirants Cup, but not this time as the Wangs Basketball Couriers launched a huge comeback to beat ZC Mindanao Aguilas in overtime, 97-88, on Thursday at the Ynares Sports Arena, Pasig.

Former Ateneo de Manila University stalwart Gwyne Capacio served as the bomb for Wangs and became the game-saving hero during crunch time en route to the Couriers’ first win.

The Aguilas led by as much as 19 points which basically put them on the driver’s seat in most parts of the square off, yet things started to go the other way around as Wangs slowly found their tempo en route to the second half.

Coach Rejhi Natividad’s Aguilas poised for what seemed to be a first blowout victory for them, but not when Gwyne Capacio, James Mangahas, and Francis Munsayac sparked the fightback for Wangs which trimmed the 19-point cushion down to just 5 points.

Capacio, who highlighted the second half for Wangs Basketball, knocked down two shots from the charity stripe for a 2-point advance, 79-77, but Mindanao Aguilas’ Ken Acibar returned the favor with another basket to knot the scores at 79-all which sent the game to an overtime session.

The extra period did not stop Capacio from doing what he does best though, as he pushed Wangs for a 6-point control to head for the Couriers’ 97-88 comeback victory.

Gwyne Capacio led the Wangs Basketball Couriers with 23 points, while James Mangahas and Francis Munsayac had 18 and 17 markers, respectively.

In addition, Clark Bautista also had his share of 16 hits for Wangs.

Dexter Garcia topscored with 23 points and Ken Acibar had 18 points, but all in a losing effort for the listless ZC Mindanao Aguilas (0-2).


Game Scores: 

WANGS BASKETBALL (97) — Capacio 23, Mangahas 18, Munsayac 17, Bautista 16, Vijandre 6, Ilad 5, Banal 4, Je. Montemayor 4, Cueto 2, Jo. Montemayor 2, Tumalip 0.

ZC MINDANAO AGUILAS (88) — Garcia 23, Acibar 18, Jumao-as 15, Sarangay 11, Julkipli 5, Rivera 5, Ignacio 4, Ongteco 3, Rublico 2, Villanueva 2, De Guzman 0, Nalos 0, Wetherell 0.